top of page
  • Writer's pictureJD Wiener

Research Proposal

Updated: Jul 11, 2018

JD Wiener

Mat Wenzel

ENC 2135

7 July 2018

Research Proposal


1. Research Question

What is the process in making a NCAA Division 1 football team?


2. Working title for your project

College Football: How to get on the team.


3. A summary of your project. Identify your topic and describe what you will be looking at in terms of the topic. Include key terms and addition questions that will guide your research.

Over 1.23 million kids from ages 6-12 play tackle football around the United States, 1.07 million kids play tackle football in high school, and of all those kids playing football in high school, 5,850 of them will go on to play for a Power 5 football team, like Florida State. In my research paper, I will be talking about how to be in that .005 percent of high school players that go on to make a Power 5 team. In addition to that, I will be describing the difference in walking on a football team and getting recruited to come on scholarship. I will do this by both interviewing a player who walked on, and one who was recruited to play here at Florida State.


4. Description of your purpose for working on this project. What do you plan to learn when working on this project?

I plan on walking on the football team here at Florida State, so this research will help me with that process, I plan on learning what I have to do step by step with this project.


5. A discussion of key challenges you will face or you imagine you will face. What concerns do you have regarding this research/project?

A problem I think I may run into is doing this research paper incorrectly, since I have never done a research paper before.




Works Cited

Braziller, A. The Bedford Book of Genres 2nd Edition. Bedford/St. Martins, 2018.


Farrey, Tom. “Youth Football Participation Increases in 2015; Teen Involvement down, Data Shows.” ESPN, ESPN Internet Ventures, 17 Apr. 2016,


“U.S. Boys/Girls High School Football Participation 2009-2017 | Statistic.” Statista, www.statista.com/statistics/267955/participation-in-us-high-school-football/.

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Annotated Bibliography (First Draft)

JD Wiener ENC 2135 Mat Wenzel 14 July 2018 Works Cited Braziller, A. The Bedford Book of Genres 2nd Edition. Bedford/St. Martins, 2018. I used the Bedford Book of Genres in my project for formatting a

Community Profile

JD Wiener Mat Wenzel ENC 2135 10 July 2018 Doak Campbell Stadium As I walk past the “Unconquered” horse statue named “Renegade” and into the “largest brick structure in the United States”, according t

bottom of page